Phew! Snapchat now lets you delete sent messages

  • Snapchat is now allowing users to delete messages that haven’t yet been read.
  • The intended recipient will still get a notification telling them that a message has been deleted.
  • Snap has also announced that its Spectactles will soon be available to buy on Amazon.

Snapchat has unveiled a new feature that allows users to delete sent messages before the recipient has opened them. According to 9to5Mac, the new feature is already rolling out and more users should gain access over the next weeks.

The new feature is simple to use. All you have to do is press on the message, photo, or video that you want to delete and then select the delete option on the pop-up. This will delete the content from the apps of everyone in the chat. Although, the recipients will get a notification telling them that the message has been deleted.

Snapchat Delete Messages 9to5Mac

Snapchat has long had features that make things you send more ephemeral than on other social media platforms. Messages disappear soon after being read and Snapchat is responsible for introducing the temporary video stories that are now also found on the likes of Facebook and Instagram. Being able to delete a message before anyone sees it, therefore, seems like a pretty natural addition to the app.

Editor’s Pick

Of course, as with the similar function recently added by WhatsApp, it isn’t foolproof as people can still capture screenshots. Best to err on the side of caution before sending any messages you may end up regretting.

In other news, Snapchat is making the second-generation of its Spectacles, the video and photo capturing sunglasses it released earlier this year, available on Amazon. The glasses cost $149.99 and you can buy them in three snappily named colors: onyx moonlight, sapphire twilight, and ruby daybreak. At the time of publishing, the Amazon listing wasn’t available yet.

Next up: How to use Snapchat on Android – time to get snapping

Powered by WPeMatico

      %d bloggers like this: